PELENNA COMMUNITY COUNCIL CYNGOR CYMUNED PELENNA

Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting held on Wednesday 15 May 2019 at Tonmawr Community Centre at 7.00 p.m.

1 Present: Chairperson – Cllr. Diane Evans Cllr Philip Lewis, Cllr Janice Evans, Cllr Lisa Hawkes, Cllr Wayne Pugh, Cllr Robert Jenkins, Cllr Malcolm Jones In attendance: The Clerk: David S Mackerras Apologies: Cllr Desmond Sparkes

.....

- 2 2019/58 Declarations of Interest Nothing declared.
- 2019/59 To approve the minutes of the previous Annual meeting held on 2nd May 2018
 Proposed by Cllr Malcolm Jones, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all Members in favour that the minutes are recorded accurately

4 2019/60 Election of Chairperson 2019/20

Proposed by Cllr Lisa Hawkes, seconded by Cllr Wayne Pugh with all in favour that Cllr. Diane Evans be elected as Chairperson for the year 2019/20. Cllr Evans signed the declaration of acceptance of office for 2019/20.

5 2019/61 Election of Vice Chairperson 2019/20

Proposed by Cllr Robert Jenkins, seconded by Cllr Philip Lewis with all in favour that Cllr. Malcolm Jones be elected as Vice Chairperson for the year 2019/20. Cllr Jones signed the declaration of acceptance of office for 2019/20.

6 2019/62 One Voice Wales representation

Proposed by Cllr Robert Jenkins, seconded by Cllr. Wayne Pugh with all in favour that Cllr Malcolm Jones and Cllr Philip Lewis be re-elected as representatives to OVW

1

7 2019/63 NPTCBC/Community Council liaison group representation

Proposed by Cllr Diane Evans, seconded by Cllr Janice Evans with all in favour that Cllr Desmond Sparkes and Cllr Wayne Pugh be re-elected as representatives for 2019/20.

8 2019/64 Pontrhydyfen Community Centre committee representation

Proposed by Cllr Lisa Hawkes, seconded by Cllr Janice Evans with all in favour that Cllr. Philip Lewis be re-elected as the Community Council representative for 2019/20.

9 2019/65 Finance committee membership

a.Proposed by Cllr Wayne Pugh, seconded by Cllr Robert Jenkins with all in favour that Members of the Finance committee for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Desmond Sparkes, Cllr Philip Lewis, Cllr Robert Jenkins, Cllr Diane Evans and Cllr Malcolm Jones.

b. Proposed by Cllr Wayne Pugh, seconded by Cllr Robert Jenkins with all in favour that the Chair of Finance for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Diane Evans.

c. Proposed by Cllr Wayne Pugh, seconded by Cllr Robert Jenkins with all in favour that The Terms of Reference document presented to the meeting should be adopted following a revision to para 6 – Number of Committee members should be five.

10 2019/66 Parks & Open Spaces committee membership

- a. Proposed by Cllr Wayne Pugh, seconded by Cllr Robert Jenkins with all in favour that members of the Parks and Open Spaces committee for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Wayne Pugh, Cllr Philip Lewis, Cllr Robert Jenkins, Cllr Diane Evans and Cllr Lisa Hawkes
- b. Proposed by Cllr Wayne Pugh, seconded by Cllr Robert Jenkins with all in favour that the Chair of Parks and Open Spaces for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Wayne Pugh.
- c. Proposed by Cllr Wayne Pugh, seconded by Cllr Robert Jenkins with all in favour that the Terms of Reference document presented to the meeting should be adopted

following a revision to para 10 – Number of Committee members should be five.

11 2019/67 Health & Safety committee membership

- a. Proposed by Cllr Lisa Hawkes, seconded by Cllr Wayne Pugh with all in favour that members of the Health and Safety committee for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Janice Evans, Cllr Lisa Hawkes, Cllr Desmond Sparkes, Cllr Malcolm Jones and Cllr Wayne Pugh.
- b. Proposed by Cllr Lisa Hawkes, seconded by Cllr Wayne Pugh with all in favour that the Chair of the Health and Safety committee for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Janice Evans.
- c. Proposed by Cllr Lisa Hawkes, seconded by Cllr Wayne Pugh with all in favour that the presented Terms of Reference document for the Health and Safety Committee should be adopted following a revision to para 7 – Number of Committee members should be five.

12 2019/68 Planning committee membership

- a. Proposed by Cllr Lisa Hawkes, seconded by Cllr Wayne Pugh with all in favour that All Council members should be members of the Planning committee for 2019/20.
- b. Proposed by Cllr Lisa Hawkes, seconded by Cllr Wayne Pugh with all in favour that the Chair of the Planning committee shall be Cllr Diane Evans.
- c. Proposed by Cllr Lisa Hawkes, seconded by Cllr Wayne Pugh with all in favour that the presented Terms of Reference document for the planning Committee should be adopted.

13 2019/69 Personnel committee membership

- a. Proposed by Cllr Malcolm Jones, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that members of the Personnel Committee for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Philip Lewis, Cllr Janice Evans, Cllr Diane Evans and Cllr Demond Sparkes. The fifth member of the committee will be appointed from new members shortly to be co-opted.
- b. Proposed by Cllr Malcolm Jones, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that the Chair of the Personnel Committee for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Philip Lewis.

c. Proposed by Cllr Malcolm Jones, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that the presented Terms of Reference document for the Personnel Committee shall be adopted following an ammendment to para 8 – Number of committee members shall be five.

14 2019/70 Cemetery committee membership

- a. Proposed by Cllr Malcolm Jones, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that the members of the Cemetery committee for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Diane Evans, Cllr Robert Jenkins, Cllr Philip Lewis and Cllr Wayne Pugh. The fifth member vacancy shall be filled by a new co-opted member.
- b. Proposed by Cllr Malcolm Jones, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that the Chair of the Cemetery Committee for 2019/20 shall be Cllr Diane Evans.
- c. Proposed by Cllr Malcolm Jones, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that the presented Terms of Reference document for the Cemetery Committee shall be adopted following two ammendments. The first ammendment to para 7 which will read – 'The Committee will consider taking action as necessary in relation to the Cemetery. It will make appropriate recommendations to Full Council.' The second ammendment is to para 9 with Committee membership changed to 'five' Community Councillors

15 2019/71 Community Newsletter committee membership

- a. Proposed by Cllr Janice Evans, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that membership of the Community Newsletter committee for 2019/20 shall be considered at the June Full Council meeting.
- b. Proposed by Cllr Janice Evans, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that the Chair of the Community Newsletter committee for 2019/20 shall be considered at the June Full Council meeting.
- c. Proposed by Cllr Janice Evans, seconded by Cllr Lisa Hawkes with all in favour that the presented Terms of Reference document for the Community Newsletter committee shall be adopted following an ammendment to para 6 – Number of committee members shall be five.

16 2019/72 Draft Annual Return

The draft Annual Return, which at this stage has not yet been checked by the Internal Auditor, was presented to the meeting. It is anticipated that the accounts will be reviewed by the Finance committee prior to the Full Council meeting of 5th June.

Chair

Meeting closed 7:55pm