# PELENNA COMMUNITY COUNCIL CYNGOR CYMUNED PELENNA

Minutes of the Annual Council Meeting held on Wednesday 2 May 2018 at Tonmawr Community Centre at 7.00 p.m.

1 **Present**: Chairperson – Cllr. Des Sparkes.

Cllr Philip Lewis, Cllr Janice Evans, Cllr Lisa Hawkes, Cllr Wayne Pugh,

Cllr Diane Evans

In attendance: The Clerk: David S Mackerras

Apologies: Cllr Malcolm Jones, Cllr Robert Jenkins

.....

#### 2 2018/44 Declarations of Interest

Nothing declared.

#### **3 2018/45 Election of Chairperson 2018/19**

Cllr. Desmond Sparkes was nominated and duly elected as Chairperson for the year 2018/19. Cllr Sparkes signed the declaration of acceptance of office for 2018/19.

# 4 2018/46 Election of Vice Chairperson 2018/19

Cllr. Diane Evans was nominated and duly elected as Vice Chairperson for the year 2018/19. Cllr Evans signed the declaration of acceptance of office for 2018/19.

#### 5 2018/47 One Voice Wales representation

Cllr Malcolm Jones and Cllr Philip Lewis were re-elected as representatives to OVW

# 6 2018/48 NPTCBC/Community Council liaison group representation

Cllr Desmond Sparkes and Cllr Wayne Pugh were elected as representatives for 2018/19.

# 7 2018/49 Pontrhydyfen Community Centre committee representation

Cllr. Philip Lewis was re-elected as the Community Council representative for 2018/19.

#### 8 2018/50 Finance committee membership

a.It was unanimously agreed by Members present that the Chair of Finance committee for 2018/19 shall be Cllr Desmond Sparkes

b. It was further agreed that committee members for 2018/19 shall be Cllr Desmond Sparkes, Cllr Philip Lewis, Cllr Robert Jenkins and Cllr Diane Evans

### 9 2018/51 Parks & Open Spaces committee membership

- a. It was unanimously agreed by Members present that the Chair for 2018/19 shall be Cllr. Wayne Pugh.
- b. It was further agreed that committee members for 2018/19 shall be Cllr Wayne Pugh, Cllr Philip Lewis, Cllr Robert Jenkins and Cllr Diane Evans.

#### 10 2018/52 Health & Safety committee membership

- a. It was unanimously agreed by Members present that the Chair for 2018/19 shall be Cllr Janice Evans.
- b. It was further agreed that committee members for 2018/19 shall be Cllr Janice Evans, Cllr Lisa Hawkes, Cllr Desmond Sparkes, Cllr Malcolm Jones

# 11 2018/53 Planning committee membership

It was agreed that all members of Council shall be considered members of the planning committee for 2018/19

# 12 2018/54 Personnel committee membership

- **a.** It was unanimously agreed by Members present that the Chair for 2018/19 shall be Cllr Philip Lewis.
- **b.** It was further agreed that committee members for 2018/19 shall be Cllr Philip Lewis, Cllr Desmond Sparkes, Cllr Diane Evans, Cllr Janice Evans

# 13 2018/55 Cemetery committee membership

- **a.** It was unanimously agreed by members present that Chair for 2018/19 will be Cllr Diane Evans.
- **b.** It was further agreed that committee members for 2018/19 shall be Cllr Diane Evans, Cllr Robert Jenkins, Cllr Philip Lewis and Cllr Wayne Pugh.
- 14 2018/56 Community Newsletter committee membership
  It was agreed that a decision on committee membership will
  be deferred to a later date.

#### 15 2018/57 Chair's Allowance

It was unanimously agreed that the Chair's allowance for 2018/19 will continue at £100

#### 16 2018/58 Accounts 2017/18

Total income was higher than budget by £324 principally because rental areas from previous year were collected. Expenditure was lower than budget by £5,052 mainly because the 'Working with nature' project at Pontrhydyfen did not proceed in the year saving £2,000; and a further saving of £2,080 as there was a very low election cost in May 2017.

Income was lower than anticipated at Macpelah cemetery, as there were less interments than expected. Expenditure for the cemetery was £821 less than expected, with savings in all areas of expenditure.

17 2018/59 Appointment of Internal Auditor 2018/19
It was unanimously agreed that Miss Karen Morgan will be re-appointed as Internal Auditor for 2018/19 at a fee of £175.

Chair	 	 	 	 	

Meeting closed 7:35pm